Curriculum Vital

    Year 5 Animals, including humans: Growing and Changing

    growing and changing.jpg

    This lesson uses material from the new KS2 science curriculum. Pupils learn about the specific changes that humans undergo in each stage of their life, including the development of a foetus and the changes that occur during puberty. As pupils learn about each set of changes, they will contrsuct their own timeline of the stage of life. This is a content-heavy lesson and could be split into two parts to allow for more focus on each stage of life.

    Pupils will learn:

    • How to describe the changes as humans grow from infancy to old age.

    Get this lesson plan.png


    Related lesson plans and articles

    Year 1 Animals, including humans: Basic body parts

    Year 2 Animals, including humans: Growing and Changing

    Year 3 Animals, including humans: Bones and muscles

    Year 4 Animals, including humans: Food Chains

    Year 6 Animals, including humans: A healthy body

    Year 5 Forces: Falling

    Year 5 Living things and their habitats: Life cycles

    Year 5 Living things and their habitats: Reproduction

    Year 5 Earth and Space: The Solar System

    Year 5 Properties and changes of materials: Grouping materials

    Book review: Alex As Well, by Alyssa Brugman

    Book review: Horrible Science: Blood, Bones and Body Bits, by Nick Arnold and Tony De Saulles

    Getting arty with science - 25 fun activities to enhance your science lessons

    Related resources